Armoured Up

The “In” Crowd

I’ve never belonged to the “in” crowd …have never desired to be a part of the “in” crowd. I’ve been on the verge of being “in”…have tasted “in” and “in” just didn’t feel right to me; didn’t feel authentic to me. I was the insider on the outside looking in. Nope, I’ve never liked being in…I’m thinking because while I was “in” someone was left out.

I recall far back when I was a young girl, noticing those on the playground who were alone and reaching out to them or sitting with them if I saw them alone. I was the one sneaking the neighborhood “dirty” kids up the fire escape to give them baths; or inviting the girl in the corner house on Pierce Street to come out and play jump rope. I still remember her less than perfect smile and the twinkle in her eye as she was let in. I was the one at the job who found the housekeeper in the kitchen and I would sit with her and listen to her stories. She was the only co-worker who visited with me at my home and said she felt important because I let her in. I asked her why she felt that way and she said “why would someone in your position be interested in me?” So sad!! I was asked by the big boss why I chose to spend time with “her” when I was so cool…Ughhh. He was sooooo why I chose to stay on the outside!!!

Having a husband in the industry has always been a source of OY for me since I’m not a green room girl; am not a VIP room girl. Don’t like to be set apart in that way, but I do like being set apart in another way…

My desire really is to be in the “in Him” crowd. The crowd that grows in Him; talks about Him; lives in Him; remains in Him. The crowd that excludes no one because we are all in Him. My long lasting relationships are built in Him and remain because they are centered in Him. My marriage is strong because we are together in Him.

I think it would please Him if the only “in” we’d find ourselves in is Him. And wouldn’t we all be soooo cool!!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The “In” Crowd

  1. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and for the follow

  2. Matthew 5:41 – if you love those who love you, what reward do you get? I relate to your desire to reach the outsiders!

Leave a Reply

