Armoured Up

The Hardest Thing in the World…

If I’m being real…

honest, I’d have to say that the hardest thing in the world to do is love someone who does not love you.  That someone who taunts you, flings barbs at you, corrects you…that someone who finger points, finger wags; who just doesn’t like you for reasons only known by them; that person who ASSumes things about you without ever really knowing you; who challenges everything you say, everything you do…whew, I’m having flashbacks.  Jesus take the wheel!!!

LOVE…that sometimes elusive thing that everyone wants to have; that emotion that we can’t live without, one so easy to fall into, so easy to do until it’s not reciprocated.

“But if you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? For even sinners love those who love them.  And if you do good to those who do good to you, what credit is that to you? For even sinners do the same.” Luke 6:32-33

I was met with a challenge to love that person described in paragraph one above:)  After each encounter, two thoughts would occur to me and I’d wrestle with the first one…”How lovely would my hands feel around her neck,” quickly (not so quickly sometimes if I’m being real…honest) — followed by the more sane thought…Arlene, you can either PASS or FAIL.  Well seeing that I’m writing this from my kitchen and not from a jail cell, you know I passed, but time after time I’d question why after having passed the test, I would walk away with my jaw clenched and fists balled up never really feeling like a winner.  This went on longer than anyone should really deal with before snapping and that last time as I walked away, I asked for Divine intervention DUH!!! due to the ever increasing sense that the old man..(you know, the one that was supposed to be dead) was going to make an appearance…I heard him scratching at the coffin and it was getting louder and louder.

When I grew quiet enough to hear Him answer, it was ME being checked.  Huh?  I was being shown that  some of the very things that irritated me about her were big in me.  Ruh ro!!  Now that He had my attention, He began to show me the areas that needed smoothing in me that I saw in her that irritated me.  I felt she was critical, judgmental, bossy, prideful, all knowing, never listening, unteachable…OH GOD!!!…the list goes on.  Once I got up from the floor, I simply said.  “Lord, change me..set a guard over my mouth and cause me to see her through Your eyes; to hear her…really hear her and not react.  Lord, I want to love her the way You love her.  And Lord, if that dead man is really dead, I shouldn’t be reacting…change me.”  Before too long, things began to change and the beauty of it all was that I never set out to try to change.  I think she may have changed, or was it me that just didn’t notice any more because the Lord had begun a work in me.  There was peace between us…“When a man’s ways please the Lord, he makes even his enemies to be at peace with him.” Proverbs 16:7 – In the end, I rather liked her…she was strong, take charge, successful in business, loving towards her family, generous and she loved the Lord.

So I passed the test and learned a few things…I learned that sometimes the Lord resurrects a mirror before us and the reflection is not too cute, but with a little heart adjustment transformation begins. I learned that we shouldn’t run away from obstacles…growth occurs when you’re stretched.  I learned that I cannot control others’ actions, but I can control my reaction; I learned that humility takes you  a long way.  I learned that the old man is sometimes never dead…just sleeping..hehehe; I learned that love is hard sometimes….but it never fails!

L.O.V.E….Love…heavily pursued and thought of, falling in and out of…flung about and sung about…

L.O.V.E. — What’s love got to do with it?  Everything, Tina!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

