Armoured Up

One

It’s a little before 9:00 a.m. on Saturday morning and I’m mapping out my day.  Taking center stage today is a baby shower for a friend.  A day of celebration for her as she makes it to the homestretch of her long awaited, much fought for pregnancy.  A joyous day made even more joyous in light of the sadness she experienced last year when she suffered a miscarriage.  I will be picking up the delicious yellow cake with chocolate custard inside with whipped cream frosting and will be one of the hostesses of this happy event.  I will see a lot of friends I haven’t seen in a while.  We will play games, eat good food, laugh a lot, open gifts, take pictures.  I’ll come home, check in with my husband and son and make plans for the evening.  Those are my plans anyway.

While life goes on for me, I can’t help but think about what’s going on around me, specifically in Colorado.  I’m thinking about the moms and dads, grandparents, brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, cousins who will be preparing to say goodbye forever to their loved ones.  I’m thinking about those who will become support systems for those injured physically and emotionally by the event…hundreds of lives interrupted, decades of plans cut short by one.  I can’t help but think that while I’m planning my cheery outfit and getting all spiffied up, others will be planning burial garments or will be dressed in black, hospital gowns or prison garb for one; while I’m gathering with friends in celebration of a new life, others will begin the arduous task of making arrangements for their loved ones whose lives have been ended by one, while others begin the process of healing and still one will attempt to explain the unexplainable; while I’m taking a bite of my delicious cake, so many others will be eating food brought over by a friend or neighbor, some won’t be eating at all…ever and one will be eating all by himself…most likely forever.

So sad, so senseless.  While life goes on for me….life has stopped for many.  Praying for healing…physical, emotional healing; comfort and peace.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “One

  1. I’m in the same boat. All that good energy goes somewhere, I hope. It keeps hitting me as a feeling of sadness, really deep sadness, for so many people. I hope you enjoy your day, and thank you for sharing how it affects you.

  2. isn’t it amazing how easy it is to be so distracted by the business in our lives that when something happens to suddenly ‘slow your roll’ like the shooting in colorado we are struck by the ultimate emptiness of most of what we consider important. thank God for times of refreshing, when we have the opportunity to be thankful for those things which are truly important.
    -mike

  3. I join in these prayers, Arlene.

  4. A heartfelt blog Arlene. You have put into words what most caring people are feeling. Life goes on as usual for us, but part of us reaches out to those who have been immediately affected by this tragedy. I pray that in all the grief and despair and the unanswered questions, people will turn to God and find in Him the only comfort that will make a difference.

  5. Thank you Angela…I’m with you praying that people will turn to the Comforter!

Leave a Reply

