Armoured Up

Jehovah Rapha, My Healer

Exactly 11 years ago this month, I was living in the ‘burbs, as an at-home mommy to toddlers born 21 months apart. My baby was 14 months old. My husband was on the road a lot making it extremely difficult for me to get to church, which was quite a distance. My son was super busy and my daughter was super clingy and at the time, our church had no children’s church. The thought of schlepping all the way to church with two babies who I’d be chasing the entire time was not appealing so I was M.I.A. quite a bit. (I see clearly now the importance of a LOCAL church and it was by design that I eventually taught in children’s church, giving moms that much needed time in service to fill up!!) During that time, I found myself too busy and tired to even get in the word. After dealing with kids by myself all day and cleaning the house when they went down for the night, I would fall into a catatonic state in front of the tv night after night. My fire had definitely been put out. My first love was no longer first…He may have actually been at least fourth, before me, on a good day…and I can’t help but think that if He were keeping score, He would have felt used and tossed away. I had made Jesus my personal genie, benefitting from His goodness from the miracle births of my children to my staying at home with them to every other material blessing we received. He was now propped on a shelf somewhere, like my bible, if I could find it…collecting dust, I’m sure. It’s like I said, “I’ll take it from here, Lord,” and with a wink and a nod, I moved on and into a nightmare.

The Diagnosis

That day in August, I went to sleep feeling tired, but no more than usual and I woke up feeling strange. My legs felt cold, and like I had rubber bands fastened around them cutting off circulation. My feet were tingling. The symptoms progressed to where I lost feeling in my hands and my fingertips were now tingling. I would have what I call a feeling of “electricity” or a shock down my back whenever I bowed my head and I was exhausted….unnaturally exhausted. This went on for weeks without me sharing with anyone. When my husband finally came home in mid-September, he encouraged me to see a doctor. I was referred to a neurologist, but not just any neurologist!! I was referred to a spirit filled believer who put me through the most horrendous nerve conduction study before sharing the diagnosis with me. I was stricken with a mysterious neurological condition, called Guillain-Barre Syndrome…

Guillain-Barre syndrome is a serious disorder that occurs when the body’s defense (immune) system mistakenly attacks part of the nervous system. This leads to nerve inflammation that causes muscle weakness and other symptoms.

He had studied this disease, knew all about it and had even taught about it during his days as a professor. He said he had seen it pass through the system and there was nothing we could do except wait for that to occur. He would see me every three months. I asked him three questions…(1) Should I read up on it? “No.” (2) How long will it take for these symptoms to diminish? He responded, “Anywhere from now to up to 7 years.” (3) Will you pray for me? “I wouldn’t let you leave without first praying for you.” What a blessing to have my doctor lay his hands on my head and pray the prayer of faith over me.

I left his office that day and called my sister who works in the medical field to let her know how my appointment went. I mispronounced the diagnosis and heard her reaction followed by “Thank God you didn’t say Guillan-Barre. That’s a horrific condition.” She went on to tell me about patients she has seen with it. My legs got weak and I told her that was exactly what I had. Bless her heart…she tried backpedaling a bit, but it was too late. I know why my doctor didn’t want me to read up on it. He later confirmed that he didn’t want my faith to be shaken.

The Fight

The scandal was that I was in for a fight and couldn’t even find my bible.   Although I had left my first love, He never left me. He orchestrated that meeting with my neurologist. He was so good to me even though I felt so undeserving. I recall that first night, putting the kids down and collapsing on the couch and saying “Lord, I know You didn’t give me these kids for someone else to raise. If You heal me, I will serve You all the days of my life.” Side note…”If” is the badge of doubt in a prayer when you know the will of God. It is His will that we prosper and be in health as our souls prosper!

I began to feed on every healing scripture I could find. The pain was tormenting and the enemy did his best to weaken my faith. The thief comes to steal, kill and destroy, but Jesus came so that I would have life and have it abundantly. You know when you are in the fight of your life, you have no time to put down your weaponry because at every turn, the enemy takes swipes. His tactic is to wear you down…to chip away at your armour…to catch you napping. I recognized the pattern from my last fight of faith and I would not be moved, but that does not mean it was a walk in the park!! On three separate occasions I took some shots. One day I was driving and listening to Focus on the Family. I love testimonies and was enjoying hearing a pastor speak of his return to God after his father was taken from him suddenly..a victim to Guillan-Barre. Ooh, that hurt. Weeks later, my brother died suddenly which provoked an onslaught of symptoms, namely the news literally taking my breath away. Thank God my husband was home to help calm me and I dodged that bullet. Several months later, I was still experiencing symptoms…on and off and they seemed to flare up every time I talked about being healed. I was having dinner with my sister and her friend, a hospice nurse. She spoke of a patient…a young man in his 30’s whom she had been ministering to and there was some urgency, since this man would not survive. He was hooked up to a ventilator and was unable to move anything except for his eyes. He suffered from a “mysterious neurological condition,” she said. I asked her if she knew the name of his condition. Of course, it was Guillan-Barre. As soon as I heard that, I lost my appetite and noticed the symptoms were back stronger than ever. Side Note: How interesting (or typical of the devil) that since that time I have yet to hear of anyone having that disease.

Enough is Enough!!!

The year is now 2008 and life has gone on. I’m not as tired anymore, but there are still flare ups and the occasional feeling that I’m all abuzz. I sat in my favorite chair one morning with my healing scriptures on my lap writing in my journal…crying out to God, asking Him when I would be completely healed. “Please Lord…I’m your daughter! Don’t you hear me? Why haven’t I been healed. It’s been SEVEN years now!!” Did you catch that? In a split second I was reminded of the doctor’s time frame when he said I could be healed immediately or it could take up to seven years. I clearly recall after he said that, I counted seven years and thought to myself “that’s not too bad…I could do that.” I quickly repented for my lack of faith..for being double minded.. and in tears I declared my healing at that moment in Jesus’ name. With my hand on my heart, I promise you that every symptom left and I stood up from that chair completely healed and have been symptom free now for 4 years, this month.

This was a long one, and I pray you stayed long enough to hear that Jesus is the same yesterday, today and forever and He is no respecter of persons. If He healed me, He is willing and able to heal you. Don’t put your confidence in man or in man’s opinion. Put your confidence in Him and trust Him now for your healing. Do the Hezekiah (as I like to call it) — turn your back on that negative doctor’s report and focus your attention on Jesus…the author and finisher of your faith. Jehovah Rapha, my healer – He is faithful and moves when words of faith are released. Try Him! As my blessed mother-in-law would say…the only thing He cannot do is fail…and I’d add to that that the other thing He cannot do is lie!

Single Post Navigation

23 thoughts on “Jehovah Rapha, My Healer

  1. AMEN! Great testimony!

  2. Amen and Amen I have seen the healing/miraculous power of Jesus first hand and it is truly AWESOME. God does what man is unable to do in impossible situations.

  3. Great testimony. God CANNOT lie – no matter the circumstances. Gopd CANNOT deny His nature or His promises. What He says, He WILL do.

    What an amazing God!

  4. This was the first post I read on your blog and was moved – deeply – in my spirit. I needed to hear what the Lord put on your heart.
    You see, the past few days I’ve been feeling a bit ‘dry’ or distant from the Lord. Even though I’ve been continuing to read the Word and pray, my heart just wasn’t into it because I was thinking of things that needed to get done, or this, or that but not fully focusing on the Lord. Just a few hours before I read your post, I was showering and thinking of how badly I wanted to get back on track. I actually said out loud in the shower, “Enough is enough!”
    Your post brought me down on my knees and to tears. I thank God He got my full attention through you.
    I look SO FORWARD to exploring your blog!!
    God BLESS you!! 🙂

  5. Thank you, Jesus. You are so faithful! Love you sissy!

  6. What a powerful testimony! This is a story of hope and faith, trusting in the Lord believing and never giving up on that hope! Thanks for sharing!

  7. I keep going back in our archives and getting my socks blessed off!

  8. This is the most awesome testimony. Thank you for taking a part in increasing my faith.

  9. Reblogged this on Grandma Donnie On Line and commented:
    uplifting testimony.

  10. God bless you Arlene. What a powerful story. I would have fallen apart every time I heard someone say that about a disease I was just diagnosed with. I would have literally come unglued. You had great faith, even though at the seven year point when you were praying, you hadn’t thought so. But God, who is faithful to His Word, healed you as He promised.

  11. Thank you for your encouragement:) You know, you never know how strong you are until that muscle is tested! I thank God that He is my strength; He heard my cry; He answered my prayer; He’s faithful…yes He is!!! But God!!!

  12. I left a lengthy comment previously, but I think it got lost! I also was attacked with Guillain-Barre Syndrome almost twenty years ago, before I truly knew Jesus.On August 18,1999 I was saved,sanctified and Holy Ghost Filled.I was delivered from sickness,alcohol addiction ,tobacco, the list could go on and on! I was blessed for several years with so many things,I thought it would never change.Well,things did change.My health began to fail again and in 2005 I was diagnosed with SLE,the most devastating form of Lupus and a litany of autoimmune diseases.Tonight,after another useless hospital visit,I stumbled upon your blog concerning Guillain-Barre Syndrome.I know that God has used you greatly to touch me,you and I both know that my seeing anything pertaining to Guillain- Barre Syndrome was definatly not by chance.Thank You and God Bless, Charlene Thomas

  13. Charlene…no I didn’t receive your previous comment, but am grateful you were able to leave this one. I have never met anyone else who shared in that affliction. I’m so happy you too were spared. I am definitely praying for you, Charlene trusting God for your complete healing. Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding…in ALL your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your path. Please reach out to me as often as you need. Arlene53787@aol.com – I would love to stay in touch; to offer any support I am able to give. God bless you…He loves you…He hears you! xo

    • Thank you for your reply Arlene. I certainly wasn’t looking for anything so personal,actually I was was just doing a random search for Jehovah Rapha,calling out to my Healer.When the first thing that I came across was so specific to me ,I knew He answered .I will contact you on a more personal level soon,just wanted to let others see how awesome God is and how He uses His people to connect and share His loving kindness.God Bless, talk to you soon.xoxo

Leave a Reply

