Armoured Up

Something’s Crouching

“If you do what is right, will you not be accepted?  But if you do not do what is right, sin is crouching at your door; it desires to have you, but you must rule over it.” Genesis 4:7

That visual of sin crouching at your door with a desire to “have” you (not visit you for a minute) but to possess you; to take over, jumps out at me….but you MUST rule over it.  This scripture is a warning giving me a choice and it urgently points out that my misstep could open up the door to a most unwelcome takeover.  My choice determines my outcome.   God issued this warning to Cain and if we read on, Cain did not heed the warning, instead he allowed his anger and jealousy toward his brother to spiral out of control resulting in him killing his brother.

Sin had paid a visitation and remained with Cain and with it some harsh consequences…laced with mercy, but consequences nonetheless.

Jesus had a word of wisdom for Peter which reminds me of Cain’s warning.  Over in Luke 22:31, Jesus says “Simon, Simon!  Indeed, Satan has asked for you, that he may sift you as wheat.  But I have prayed for you that your faith should not fail; and when you have returned to Me, strengthen your brethren.”  Peter’s response was typical of Peter…bold and brash…”Lord, I am ready to go with You, both to prison and to death.”  Uh, yeah okay.  Take heart that even when you have the best intention, the Lord knows your frailties; knows the end from the beginning; has already made a way of escape; pursues you; forgives you; accepts you and positions you to move on in the destiny and plans He has prepared for you.

Since the beginning of time we’ve been given the gift of choice and the opportunity to do good, but there’s this thing that gets in the way …this flesh thing that we seem to have under control for the most part, but given the opportunity, that old man who is supposed to be sleeping isn’t and if fed enough, can come roaring out proving that ole’ boy is not as dead as you think he is after all.  The Apostle Paul says it this way “For the good that I will to do, I do not do; but the evil I will not to do, that I practice.”   So what then?  Do we get comfortable in our sin when we know full well that sin is what separates us from God leaving us wide open for those demonic twins, guilt and condemnation to lay hold of us, causing a further separation from the One calling us home?

I’ve been accused of being so heavenly minded, that I’m no earthly good.  Boy, if this person could have read my heavenly mind, they would have known better than to think that!  I am a daily work in progress with choices to act out with each opportunity presented to me.  I listen to the voice of the Holy Spirit…sometimes on time, sometimes late, but I listen, I learn, I will to do good, but I don’t stop there…I then choose to do good.

Think about the trap that the enemy has set out or is preparing for you.  What is lurking or crouching at your door ready to spring to attention with an intention to take over your life…to possess you?  You must rule over it or it will rule over you.

Lord, we hear Your voice and the voice of the enemy we do not obey; we turn away from that which would so easily ensnare us and look to You to contend with that which contends with us.  Lord God, Your will, Your way…not ours…in Jesus’ name!

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Something’s Crouching

  1. The beast within . . . is alive and well. . . well, what will you do about it? Pray!

    Never say, “Is it I, Lord?”

    Maranatha!

  2. Excellent post, Arlene. Thank you for sharing what the Lord has laid on your heart.

  3. Thank God for His grace to us through Jesus!

  4. This is exactly what I needed to read tonight. God has remided me, through your beautifully written post, that He is in control when I choose to let Him in. And that I have no fear…when my eyes are on Him, and I listen and say YES to his sometimes loud, sometimes still small voice!
    My post ‘Believe’ that I wrote the other day talks of this battle we all have with sin too!
    God bless you and your ministry!

  5. Truth, Arlene….truth

  6. The devil will not bother anyone who is not seeking to please the Lord. He has them where he wants them – but – any blood-bought, adopted child of the living God WILL face attacks of the devil when they are submitted to their Father and walking in His ways.

    Praise God that He has supplied us with ALL we need to face the enemy, to stand, and to repel him who is already a defeated foe. However, this is not automatic. We have to put on the armour. We have to submit to God. We have to take the shield of faith and the sword of the Spirit and we have to resist. This we CAN do in HIS enabling and victory is assured.

    What an amazing God!

  7. Pingback: What Is the Connection that Defines You? | whitebrickhouse et REJOYCIN'

  8. I just referenced you in this weeks post– I hope you are able to stop by- Denise

  9. Pingback: What Is the Connection that Defines You? | whitebrickhouse et REJOYCIN'

  10. How timely this piece. My grandson in just getting out of a rehabilitaton center. He will be the recipient of this article. He has said that he is going to need things to help him stay strong. This will help him.

Leave a comment